First Place and an award of $3,000 USD went to “Motion integration unleashed” a motion perception illusion by Mathew T. Harrison and Gideon P. Caplovitz from the University of Reno, Nevada, USA.

Second Place and an award of $2,000 USD went to “Ambiguous Cylinder Illusion” a perspective illusion by Kokichi Sugihara from Meiji University, Japan.   

Third Place and an award of $1,000 USD went to “Silhouette Zoetrope” a motion illusion by Christine Veras from Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.

Enjoy the winning illusions and the other Top 10 Finalists, listed below: 
•  Jose-Manuel Alonso: “Lights and Darks in Vision.” State University of New York, USA
• Peter Brugger and Rebekka Meier: “A New Illusion At Your Elbow.” University Hospital Zurich, Switzerland                                           
• Vebjørn Ekroll, Bilge Sayim, Ruth Van der Hallen and Johan Wagemans: “The Shrunken Finger Illusion.” University of Leuven, Belgium
•  Arthur G. Shapiro: “Remote Controls.” American University, USA
•  Mike Pickard and Gurpreet Singh: “The Dalesmen Singers Illusion.” Sunderland University, UK
• Mark Vergeer, Stuart Anstis and Rob van Lier: “Caught Inside a Bubble.” University of Leuven, Belgium, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands, and UC San Diego, USA
•  Sylvia Wenmackers: “Millusion.” University of Leuven, Belgium

Illusion submissions are now accepted for the 13th edition of the Best Illusion of the Year Contest, to be held in 2017.