News Blog

Work on broken symmetry garners Physics Nobel


Three men who study broken symmetry -- the phenomenon that "conceals nature’s order under an apparently jumbled surface," according to the Nobel Foundation -- have won the Nobel Prize in Physics: Yoichiro Nambu, of the University of Chicago; Makoto Kobayashi, of the High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK), Tsukuba, Japan; and Toshihide Maskawa, of the Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics (YITP), Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan.

Broken symmetry has become an important underpinning of particle physics. You can read more about Kobayashi and Maskawa's work here.

Check back with later for more detailed coverage. In the meantime, read our In-Depth Report on the Nobels.





The views expressed are those of the author and are not necessarily those of Scientific American.

Share this Article:


You must sign in or register as a member to submit a comment.

Email this Article